What documentation of continuing education is required to maintain a license?

Answer:

Per 21 NCAC 17.0109(g) licensees must maintain general continuing education / professional development for licensure in North Carolina in a manner that is consistent with the requirements of the Commission on Dietetic Registration for Registered Dietitians – 75 hours in a 5 year period, utilizing the Professional Development Portfolio Process.

The dietitian/nutritionist who is also an R.D., will, by maintaining registration with CDR, meet the requirement for continuing education in North Carolina law.

The licensed dietitian who is not an R.D. must provide evidence of continuing education / professional development directly through the Board.

Details for meeting the continuing education / professional development requirements are sent to the licensed dietitian who is not an R.D.

Please note, rules addressing continuing education requirements for licensed nutritionists meeting the requirements in N.C. General Statute § 90-357.5(c), are presently in drafting.

Frequently Asked Questions What nutrition care services can unlicensed assistive personnel provide What can I do with certifications or online programs What areas of nutrition and dietetics require licensure Who can become licensed as a dietitian or nutritionist Who can become licensed as a nutritionist What titles are restricted by the law? How does licensure impact my Registered Dietitian (R.D.) title? What are the penalties for violations of the law? What other states require a license to practice dietetics/nutrition? How often am I required to renew my license? What can happen if I forget to renew my license? Do I need to renew my license if I am currently unemployed? What should I do if I suspect my licensure card was copied, stolen, or is being used fraudulently? What documentation of continuing education is required to maintain a license? Who is eligible for a provisional license? What are the requirements for supervision of persons claiming exemption from licensure? Who is exempt from licensure and regulation by the North Carolina Board of Dietetics/Nutrition? What can an unlicensed person, who is not otherwise exempt, do in the field of dietetics/nutrition? Is it within the scope of practice for NC LDNs to write diet orders? Is my license valid for one year from when I first apply and get licensed? What do I need to do if I get married or divorced and my name changes? How do I reactivate or reinstate my license? What are the considerations when providing nutrition care services via Telehealth?